The Central States Football League has announced members of the 2017 All-Conference Team and 21 members of the SAGU football team made the list.  The Lions finished 7-1 in CSFL play, giving them the best conference record in school history.

SAGU junior quarterback CJ Collins was named as the CSFL Offensive Player of the Year.  Collins was also named to the 1st Team – Offense.  Joining Collins on the 1st Team-Offense are senior running back JP Lowery and senior offensive lineman Devon Petty.

For 1st Team-Defense, senior defensive lineman Matt Lighter as well as senior defensive back Carl Morgan were honored.

Sophomore wide receiver Roderick Brown, junior offensive lineman Dayne Maclin, sophomore defensive lineman Jordaan Coleman and sophomore linebacker Coby Roach were all named to the CSFL 2nd Team.

Senior running back Ricky Bickham, junior wide receiver Justin Allen, senior offensive lineman Zach Erwin, senior offensive lineman Devo McNeal, senior defensive lineman Paul Ellis, sophomore defensive lineman Darnell Martin, sophomore linebacker Landon Jones, freshman defensive back Maliek Golden, senior defensive back Matt Williams, sophomore kicker Tluang Hmung, and junior punt returner Sam Northey were all listed with Honorable Mention honors.

In CSFL play, the Lions went 7-1.  They lost their only game to Langston University 14-10.  At the time, Langston was ranked #8 in the NAIA.  The league’s coaches voted and decided on the members of the CSFL 2017 All-Conference list.