Get Monthly Content

Waxahachie, Texas – November 28, 2016- The Central States Football Leagues has announced its All-Academic Team as well as their NAIA Champions of Character Team for the 2016 season.  Nine Southwestern Assemblies of God University (SAGU) football players were named to the CSFL All-Academic Team and two student-athletes were awarded as NAIA Champions of Charter.

 To be an All-Academic performer, a student-athlete must have a 3.0 cumulative grade point average and have completed 12 hours of coursework at their current institution.  Graduate student Chadd Dearen, sophomore Lincoln Kenitzer, junior JP Lowery, sophomore Marco Mathews, senior Philip Robledo, sophomore Steve Ruiz, sophomore Derek Shelby,  sophomore Luke Standage and sophomore Matt Williams are all CSFL All-Academic Team members.

The Champions of Character Team consists of student-athletes that best exemplify the five core values of the NAIA; integrity, respect, responsibility, sportsmanship and servant leadership.  SAGU senior Ethan Eastwood and junior Devon Petty were named to the Champions of Character Team.  Both Eastwood and Petty were also named 1st Team All-CSFL this season.

In addition to the CSFL All-Academic Team, SAGU had five 1st Team All-CSFL picks, five 2nd Team All-CSFL members and eight honorable mentions.

You can see the full list on the CSFL website.

Southwestern Assemblies of God University is a private, Christian university located 30 minutes south of the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex in Waxahachie, Texas. The university was established in 1927, and now offers more than 70 associate, bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees on campus or online. More information is available at or by calling 1-888-YES-SAGU.

Contact: Natalie Tristan, SAGU SID,


Related News

Back to Top