Sagu News

Get Monthly Content


Waxahachie, Texas – June 7, 2017 – The Sooner Athletic Conference (SAC) has announced 79 student-athletes have earned their spot on the 2017 Academic All-Conference Baseball team as presented by Cypress Risk Management . The Southwestern Assemblies of God University (SAGU) baseball team had a big showing with 11 athletes earning the grades.

Ty Behringer, Brett Carroll, Raul Castro, Ty Chiglo & Damian Garcia

The following baseball Lions made the Academic Baseball Team: Freshman Ty Behringer (Lake Dallas), junior Brett Carroll (Wichita Heights), senior Raul Castro (Hillsdale College), sophomore Ty Chiglo (Groesbeck), freshman Taylor Evans (Texas A&M), freshman Damian Garcia (Palmer), freshman Ethan Greiner (Tomball Memorial), freshman Tanner Lindle (Coppell), junior Anthony Montalvo (Mansfield Summitt), senior Josh Terry (Daingerfield) and sophomore Chris Wallace (Grace Prep).

Ethan Greiner, Tanner Lindle, Anthony Montalvo, Josh Terry & Chris Wallace

To be eligible for the SAC Academic All-Conference team, students must maintain a minimum 3.25 GPA during the previous two semesters and are regulars (letter winners) on their respective team.

Eight of the SAC’s nine institutions had at least one selection with Mid-America Christian University having the most with 17.

Cypress Risk Management, based in Omaha, Neb, is an insurance agency that specializes in providing customized solutions for collegiate student health and athletic accident insurance. The organization currently insures over 500,000 students nationwide and is already engaged with several other NAIA conferences in similar type of partnerships.

SAC 2017 Academic All-Conference Baseball Team
Presented by Cypress Risk Management

Blake Springer
Colby Huval
Mitchell White
Mitchell McAtee
Kyle Good

Rhett Barber
Riley Branum
Blake Conner
Aaron Conway
Aaron Davis
Ben Donnell
Jacob Graham
Trey Henley
Cameron Kirk
Chevin Noone
Axel Poesmans
Dylan Queen
Abdiel Quinones
Brandon Schoelkopf
Josh Stevenson
Reid Wall
Jake White

Hunter Aguirre
Jared Baker
Shaun Corso
Dillon Goddard
Seth Jones
Jerame Littell
Holden Lyons
Garrett Pike
Ken Williams
Matthew Young

Alexander Cortes
Carson Corff
Rudy Gonzalez

Ty Behringer
Brett Carroll
Raul Castro
Ty Chiglo
Taylor Evans
Damian Garcia
Ethan Greiner
Tanner Lindle
Anthony Montalvo
Josh Terry
Chris Wallace

Travis Moore
Layton Moore
Jordan Martin
Zachary Salomon
Grant Schamburg
Alec Venegas

CJ Ateek
Garrett Crook
Julio Ibarra
Alex Lopez
Colby Reed
Parker Robinson
Mason Rodriguez
Chandler Schoelkopf
Mark Schreiner
Blake Seaton
Braden Stemley
Brad Sugg
Leonard Underwood
Brooks Wallace
Brandt Wood

Bryson Calaway
Kyle Eifert
Matthew Flores
Jonathan Frost
Tristen Hefner
Austin Hogan
Nicholas Moore
Alex Mumm
Mitch Naylor
Dylan Norris
Caleb Swofford
Kevin Torres

Back to Top