Subscribe for SAGU News

Weekly and breaking news

Monthly e-letter    Special offers


Rambo, Walter, Nwelue chosen among Top 12

St. Thomas' Lampley chosen MVP

WAXAHACHIE, Texas  --  Moments after the University of St. Thomas posted a 67-51 triumph in the Red River Athletic Conference tournament finals over no. 6 ranked Southwestern Assemblies of God University, the All-Tournament Team was announced.

In close balloting among league Sports Information Directors, the Celts’ senior guard, Travis Lampley, the NAIA’s national leader in assists, was chosen the event’s Most Valuable Player.

His play during three wins by St. Thomas saw him showcase his considerable skills.

He had a norm of 15.3 points per game, bucketing 12, 21 and 12 points, adding 21 assists and 20 rebounds.

UST (28-5) has now won nine straight games with Lampley lighting their path.

Since losing to SAGU in Houston, 53-48, on February 9, the Celts have had eight games away from home. Three were in Waxahachie over the weekend.

During their closing stretch they defeated no. 21 LSU-Shreveport (24-6) twice and collected five wins by 10-points or less including one in overtime.

The Celts, as the tourney champs, deservedly placed three members on the 12-man squad.

So did SAGU (29-4), whose three honorees were a junior and two sophomores.

Dominique Rambo (Dallas, Tx / Oklahoma Wesleyan Univ., Trinity Christian School) finished second in the tabulations.

Had the Lions rallied to win the final he would have been the MVP.

He averaged 25.0 points per game, racking up 17, 43 and 15 in wins over Langston University, Texas Wesleyan University and the loss to St. Thomas.

‘Bo contributed 13 trifectas, 15 rebounds and 11 assists.

Forwards Jon Walter (Garland, Tx / Garland HS) and Mike Nwelue (Lewisville, Tx / Lewisville HS) were also selected.

Walter produced 48 points (15.6 ppg), swished seven treys and had 19 boards. Nwelue finished with 29 points (9.2) while reeling in 25 rebounds.

He paced the team in points in the first and third games.

Other members of this year’s team include;

Brandon Davis (LSU-Shreveport), Oscar Griffin (Texas Wesleyan), Robert Martinez (OLLU), Anthony Jackson (Wiley College), Mark Politte (LSU-Shreveport), and Kyle Preston (Texas Wesleyan).

The trio of Celts included forwards Caleb Williams, Bryan Kaase and Lampley, a point guard.

A year ago SAGU placed three on the All-Tourney squad; senior Ronald Horne (Waco, Tx / Univ. of N.Texas, Waco HS), freshman Caleb Feemster (Addison, Tx / Trinity Christian Academy) and Rambo.

The All-Tourney Team is listed on the RRAC website under Men’s Basketball and beneath Tournament.

Contact: Mark “Link” Warde, SAGU Sports Information Director, at or at 469-658-2847.

Back to Top