Subscribe for SAGU News

Weekly and breaking news

Monthly e-letter    Special offers


RRAC recognizes all Lady Lions coaches and players

WAXAHACHIE, Texas  --  Southwestern Assemblies of God University has won its share of recognition since joining the Red River Athletic Conference. Another was announced on the conference website on Monday.

Conference coaches voted to honor the SAGU women’s teams the 2012-2013 Sportsmanship Award. It is based on the demeanor and conduct of coaches, players and administration during this past academic year.

The University of St. Thomas (Houston) was the choice for men’s teams as well as the overall Sportsmanship Award.

“This award is indicative of the tremendous young ladies that comprise the female teams at SAGU,” said Athletic Director Jesse Godding.

“It is also a true reflection of the coaches that lead those teams. Coaches; Arlon Beadles, Mandy Fortner, Hank Moore and Tim Grant are individuals who have created an atmosphere on their teams of excellence in sportsmanship.”

“The fact that female student-athletes at SAGU have bought into that model of sportsmanship to the point that other competition recognizes those efforts is rewarding,” Godding added.

There are 15 member institutions in RRAC; eleven colleges from Texas, two from Oklahoma, and one apiece from New Mexico and Louisiana.

SAGU had seven teams in the Red River, which offers up to 13 options. Men’s and women’s soccer, volleyball, men’s and women’s basketball, baseball and softball comprise all but one of the Lions eight teams.

Football, like the others, is under the umbrella of both the NAIA and the NCCAA. Unlike the seven who compete in the RRAC, the Central States Football League includes SAGU.

Of the trophies and awards received by its athletic teams, the accolades for sportsmanship are among the most cherished.

“Receiving this award from the RRAC institutions is a testament to our coaches and student-athletes’ commitment to the concept of sportsmanship,” Godding points out.

The RRAC Sportsmanship Award is given annually to the RRAC member institution that displayed the highest level of sportsmanship including teamwork, fair play, respect for the game and conduct in competition.

The school's sportsmanship must be apparent across multiple sports, on and off the field and in interaction with fellow member schools.

Contact: Mark “Link” Warde, SAGU Sports Information Director, at or at 469-658-2847.

NAIA – National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics, currently 258 members. Formed 1940. Website:

NCCAA – National Christian College Athletic Association, currently 113 members. Founded 1968. Website:

Back to Top