Subscribe for SAGU News

Weekly and breaking news

Monthly e-letter    Special offers


Golson named Co-Offensive Player of the Year

Godding wins Coach of the Year selection

golson-eyes-defenderWAXAHACHIE, Texas  --  On the heals of their best season on record, Southwestern Assemblies of God University had twenty-five players honored today when the Central States Football League announced its All-Conference teams.

Five were selected to the First Team, seven on the Second Team and a thirteen made Honorable Mention.

Two individuals, however, received special recognition.

GOLSON: Co-Offensive Player of the Year

Senior quarterback Reid Golson (Grandview, Tx / Grandview, Howard Payne Univ) was named the 2013 Co-Offensive Player of the Year.

He led the league in total offense, averaging 227 yards per game. He completed 59% of his passes for 15 touchdowns while tossing just six interceptions.

Golson was a highly efficient leader of the offense. He ran for 728 yards and handed off to a pair of backs as the Lions had three of the CSFL’s top six in rushing yardage.

GODDING: 2013 Coach of the Year

Veteran Head Coach Jesse Godding was chosen by his peers as the CSFL’s 2013 Coach of the Year recipient. Godding led the team to a 6-4 record and a 4-1 mark in the CSFL.

The Lions overcame an 0-2 start to the season and finished with four consecutive victories. The team had the second best offense and defense in the league.

SAGU was especially focused on the road, winning where it’s most difficult. The Pride posted a CSFL best 4-1 record away from home.

That feat speaks very well for a coach's ability to prepare a team for the challenges of performing on road trips.

Besides Golson, who was selected as the First Team All-Conference Quarterback, the Lions also had three others chosen from the offensive unit, all juniors, and one on the Special Teams

Halfback Troy Griffin (Houston, Tx / Texas A&M Commerce), wide receiver Dylan Moore (Denton, Tx / Guyer HS) and offensive lineman Peter Akorikin (Dallas, Tx / Conrad HS) each garnered First Team status.

For the second straight season Lions placekicker James Gish (Waxahachie, Tx / Waxahachie HS) made All-Conference giving SAGU its five First Teamers.

Griffin ranked fifth in rushing with 537 yards. He averaged 4.3 yards per carry and had 10 touchdowns, nine of them on the ground.

Griffin also has the distinction of being the team’s longest gainer through the air when he dashed 49 yards with a screen pass from Golson in a 19-8 win at Haskell University.

Moore, a physical wideout is known for his toughness, hands and his penchant for big play grabs. He finished the season with 27 receptions in eight games, averaging 13.4 yards per catch.

He scored four TD’s, none bigger than the game-winning, 26-yarder that decided the 38-34 triumph over Bacone College.

Moore also snared a four-yard strike that gave SAGU the lead for good in the fourth quarter at Oklahoma Baptist University. The Lions won, 21-10.

As for Akorikin (ah-KOHR-eh-kin), a 6-foot-3, 310-pounder, he helped anchor an offensive line that paved the way for the CSFL’s best rushing attack. He played at both guard and tackle.

The Lions averaged 188 yards per game rushing (#27 in the NAIA) and were the only CSFL team with a yards per carry over four yards (4.3).

The O-line also provided time for Golson to pass by allowing only 15 QB sacks. That rates their effort at #22 in the NAIA.

That total was the best since the 2010 group permitted just 14.

Gish, at 5’9, 195 pounds, is a skilled, left-footed kicker. He converted 11 of 15 field goals, including a 44-yarder at Wayland Baptist University.

He nailed 32 of 33 extra points; the lone miss was blocked. Gish booted 15 of 21 as a junior and has made several beyond 50 yards.

Despite having the league’s second best defense, no one from the resisting side was chosen by league coaches.

A separate story on the All-Conference selections will be posted this weekend. It will feature SAGU coach’s comments on their individual performances this season.

The Lions had seven players named Second Team All-Conference;


James Hopkins (Ferris, Tx / Ferris HS, NW Okla State), Jr., Running Back
Caleb Shelly (Cold Spring, Tx / Cold Spring HS), Soph., Tight End
R.J. Adame (Keller, Tx / Keller Central HS), Jr., Center


Isaac Caston (Dallas, Tx / A+ Academy HS), Sr., Defensive End
Jeremiah Maat (Slidell, La / Slidell HS), Soph., Linebacker
Shakeem Taylor (Mesquite, Tx / Poteet HS), Soph., Cornerback


Jeremy McDonald (San Antonio, Tx / Cornerstone Christian), Jr., Kick Returner

A handful of other SAGU players also drew respect. Those credited with being chosen for Honorable Mention include;


Jeremy McDonald (San Antonio, Tx / Cornerstone Christian), Jr., Wide Receiver
Joshua Goodwin (Montgomery, Tx / Montgomery HS), Fr., Wide Receiver
Tyler Jenkins (Weatherford, Tx / Weatherford HS), Soph., Tight End
Paul Sielski (North Richland Hills, Tx / N.R. Hills HS), Jr., Offensive Tackle
Mitchell Grimes (McKinney, Tx / McKinney North HS), Jr., Offensive Guard
Darius Griffin (McKinney, Tx / McKinney North HS), Soph., Offensive Tackle


Rodney Johnson Jr. (Detroit, Mich / Springfield [Mo] Parkview HS), Sr., Defensive Tackle
Harry Ford (Thibodaux, La / Thibodaux HS), Soph., Defensive End
Kendall Evers (Danbury, Tx / Danbury HS), Sr., Linebacker
Dalton Snyder (Ennis, Tx / Ennis HS), Soph., Outside Linebacker
Jeff Howeth (Dallas, Tx / Highland Park HS, NW Mo St), Jr., Safety
Trevor McKinley (Arlington, Tx / Juan Seguin HS), Sr., Cornerback
Dylan Snyder (Ennis, Tx / Ennis HS), Fr., Safety


Chadd Dearen (Garland, Tx / Texas A&M Commerce), Fr., Punter

Contact: Mark “Link” Warde, SAGU Sports Information Director, at or at 469-658-2847

Click here for the entire CSFL All-Conference listing

For more information on the CSFL:

Complete SAGU Player Statistics:

CSFL Team and Individual Players Stats for All Teams:

Back to Top