Sagu News

Get Monthly Content


Central States Football League 2017 All-Conference Team Southwestern Assemblies of God University (SAGU) football

SAGU junior quarterback CJ Collins was named as the CSFL Offensive Player of the Year .  Collins was also named to the 1 st Team – Offense.  Joining Collins on the 1 st Team-Offense are senior running back JP Lowery and senior offensive lineman Devon Petty .

For 1 st Team-Defense, senior defensive lineman Matt Lighter as well as senior defensive back Carl Morgan were honored.

Sophomore wide receiver Roderick Brown , junior offensive lineman Dayne Maclin, sophomore defensive lineman Jordaan Coleman and sophomore linebacke r Coby Roach were all named to the CSFL 2 nd Team.

Senior running back Ricky Bickham , junior wide receiver Justin Allen , senior offensive lineman Zach Erwin , senior offensive lineman Devo McNeal , senior defensive lineman Paul Ellis , sophomore defensive lineman Darnell Martin, sophomore linebacker Landon Jones , freshman defensive back Maliek Golden, senior defensive back Matt Williams , sophomore kicker Tluang Hmung , and junior punt returner Sam Northey were all listed with Honorable Mention honors.

In CSFL play, the Lions went 7-1.  They lost their only game to Langston University 14-10.  At the time, Langston was ranked #8 in the NAIA.  The league’s coaches voted and decided on the members of the CSFL 2017 All Conference list.

Southwestern Assemblies of God University is a private, Christian university located 30 minutes south of the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex in Waxahachie, Texas. The university was established in 1927, and now offers more than 70 associate, bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees on campus or online. More information is available at or by calling 1-888-YES-SAGU.

Contact: Jose Campos, Assistant SID, [email protected]

Back to Top